Region IV-East Outstanding Mid-Level Student Affairs Professional

This award is presented to a student affairs professional at a college or university within Region IV-East with a minimum of 5 years’ experience and recognizes individuals who demonstrate outstanding commitment to the profession who have also contributed to programs that address the needs of students. Recipients must be experienced in creating campus environments that promote student learning & personal development. Each state/province within Region IV-East will have a recipient for the Outstanding Mid-Level Student Affairs Professional award.

Winners will be notified in October and the presentation of the awards will take place at the Region IV-East Conference in November in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.  Award winners should make every attempt to attend the Region IV-East Conference. 

In addition to the regional recognition that accompanies this award, the recipient will also be considered for the National NASPA Doris Michiko Ching Award for Excellence as a Student Affairs Professional.


(Bolded bullets are required, while non-bolded bullets are preferred)

  • NASPA membership is required for this nominee
  • Outstanding commitment to the profession demonstrated by at least 5 years of volunteer service to NASPA via progressive leadership roles at the state, regional, national or international levels;
  • Professional responsibility for the direction, oversight, and/or supervision of one or more student affairs functional areas, and/or one or more professional staff members;
  • Contributions to programs that address the needs of students with a record of three to four illustrations of innovative programming that has had an impact on the home campus environment in one or more functional areas of student affairs; and
  • Experience creating campus environments that promote student learning and personal development.
  • Must be a member of NASPA Region IV-East

Award Information

Deadline: Oct. 05, 2018


Meg Haggerty, MS

Chair, Awards and Exemplary Programs

NASPA Region IVE Board

Tel: 317-940-8648

Email: [email protected]

A nomination for this award should be submitted online at:

Apply Now


STEP 1: Write a letter of nomination.

STEP 2: Get the nominee's contact information and resume/c.v. (if this is a “program” nomination, this should be a “summary of the program”)

STEP 3: Collect up to three (3) letters of support with one of the three letters from an immediate supervisor.

STEP 4: The person coordinating the nomination should gather the nomination materials (depending on the nomination may include letter(s) of support, a proposal, resume/C.V, etc.), visit the awards' website and submit the materials online. All of the application materials must be uploaded at the same time. 

STEP 5: Submit the nomination by the published deadline.

Current Recipients

  • Spencer Long
    Associate Director, Student Development Services - University of Illinois at Chicago

    “He strives daily to weave together a cogent set of meaningful learning experiences that support and challenge our students to become engaged learners as well as compassionate, informed, and impactful citizens.” – Kelly McCray, Director, Student Development Services, University of Illinois at Chicago

    View All Current Recipients
  • Sharee Myricks
    Assistant Director, IUPUI and Ivy Tech Coordinated Programs - Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)

    “She always exhibits a spirt of initiative, collegiality and collaboration, and a love for serving her students and colleagues. Sharee has a strong commitment to service in the community, she leads ITCI and IUPUI in efforts to be more inclusive, she is an available advocate, teacher and mentor to students and staff.” – Julie Landaw, Director Passport Office, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis and Ivy Tech Coordinated Programs

    View All Current Recipients
  • Lamar Hylton
    Dean of Students - Kent State University

    “…he has taken a student-centered approach in cultivating inclusive, transformative environments that promote student learning and development. Dr. Hylton has shown an unwavering commitment to excellence through his distinctive leadership, innovative programming, and engagement in NASPA at the state, regional, and national level.” – Christian Hightower, Assistant Director, Student Leadership Development, Kent State University

    View All Current Recipients

Past Recipients

  • 2016 | Ana M. Rossetti

    Assistant Dean, Stuart School of Business - Illinois Institute of Technology

  • 2015 | DuJuan Smith

    - University of Illinois at Chicago

  • 2014 | Charles Holmes-Hope

    - Northern Illinois University