Region IV-East Outstanding Contribution to Higher Education

This award is presented to an individual or organization that has provided dedicated service, consistent advocacy, and outstanding leadership to the higher education community on the national or international level.  The honoree will have made a meaningful and appreciable contribution to the issues and concerns affecting higher education.

  • Made meaningful and appreciable contributions to the issues and concerns affecting higher education
  • Provided dedicated service, consistent advocacy and outstanding leadership to the higher education community in a national and/or international context
  • Current National NASPA board members are not eligible for this award.

Winners will be notified in October and the presentation of the awards will take place at the Region IV-East Conference in November in Milwauke, Wisconsin.  Award winners should make every attempt to attend the Region IV-East Conference. 

In addition to the regional recognition that accompanies this award, the recipient will be considered for the National NASPA Outstanding Contribution to Higher Education Award.

Award Information

Deadline: Oct. 05, 2018


Meg Haggerty, MS

Chair, Awards and Exemplary Programs

NASPA Region IVE Board

Tel: 317-940-8648

Email: [email protected]

A nomination for this award should be submitted online at:

Apply Now


STEP 1: Write a letter of nomination

STEP 2: Each nomination packet should include up to (3) letters of support

STEP 3: Get the nominee's contact information and resume/c.v. (if this is a “program” nomination, this should be a “summary of the program”)

STEP 4: The person coordinating the nomination should gather the nomination materials (depending on the nomination may include letter(s) of support, a proposal, resume/C.V, etc.), visit the awards' website and submit the materials online. All of the application materials must be uploaded at the same time. 

STEP 5: Submit the nomination by the published deadline.

Current Recipients

  • Dr. Chiara Hensley
    Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs - Eastern Michigan University

    “Her passion and commitment to creating a better University and to serving students is infectious and electric; continuously pushing you to think critically about your work, ask mission-centered questions about the value and contributions of our work, and challenge the status quo…” – Sean Woolf, Interim Associate Director, Office of Student Conduct, Community Standards and Wellness, Eastern Michigan University

    View All Current Recipients

Past Recipients

  • 2016 | Dra. (Doctora) Aurora Chang

    Assistant Professor, Teaching and Learning - Loyola University, School of Education