

NASPA President's Breakfast for Faculty and the Faculty Assembly



Land Acknowledgement

Iowa State University is located on the ancestral lands and territory of the Baxoje or Ioway Nation. The United States obtained the land from the Meskwaki and Sauk nations in the Treaty of 1842. I wish to recognize our obligations to this land and to the people who took care of it, as well as to the 17,000 Native people who live in Iowa today.



Welcome!





- Welcome and Introduction
- Kevin Kruger
- Amelia Parnell
- Recognition of Incoming and Outgoing Faculty Council members
- Announcement of Retirements, Promotions, Appointments
- Faculty Council Initiatives
 - Faculty Council Awards
 - Faculty Council Mentor/Mentee Recognition
 - Emerging Faculty Leadership Academy
- Reports and Announcements
- Faculty Council Goals





Kevin Kruger President @NASPApres





Amelia Parnell

Vice President for Research and Policy

#NASPA21

Faculty Council Members



Outgoing Faculty Council Members

- Yolanda Barnes
- Tamara Bertrand-Jones
- Sarah Jones
- Sarah Marshall
- Dorian McCoy
- Matt Varga



Faculty Council Members

- Aeriel Ashlee
- Sonja Ardoin
- Jackie Clark
- Tiffany Creswell-Yeager
- Antonio Duran
- Amber Manning-Ouellette
- Quincy Martin
- George McClellan

Andy Ryder • Ken Schneck Michele Smith Tracy Tambascia • Annemarie Vaccaro **NASPA** Leadership: Jill Dunlap . Amelia Parnell



Incoming Faculty Council Members

- Martha Enciso
- Laila McCloud
- April Perry
- Shanna Smith
- Blanca Vega
- Andreya Williams



Retirements



Dr. Edward Hammond

Professor Fort Hays State University

Dr. Deborah Hunter

Associate Professor

University of Vermont

Dr. Marlesa Roney

Professor

University of Kansas

Dr. Merril A. Simon
Professor
California State University, Northridge

Dr. Susan R. Jones

Professor

Ohio State University



Tenure, Promotions, and Appointments



Reports and Announcements

Faculty-Focused Events and Offerings

- Emerging Faculty Leaders Academy
- Faculty Awards
- Mentor/Mentees







Antonio Duran Service Award







Darby Roberts Outstanding Contributions by a Scholar-Practitioner



Michelle M. Espino Mid-Career Award





Nicole M. West Excellence in Teaching



Claudia Garcia-Louis Distinguished Support for Graduate Students

Jason C. Garvey Outstanding Publication



Jessica Harris Outstanding Publication

#NASPA21



Darris R. Means Outstanding Publication



Rosemary J. Perez Outstanding Publication



Christa J. Porter Outstanding Publication





Mentors



Dr. Michelle Boettcher

Mentor to Herman Diaz

Associate Professor, Higher Education Student Affairs Program Coordinator, Student Affairs Clemson University College of Education





Dr. Natasha Croom

Mentor to Valerie Thompson

Associate Professor of Higher Education and Student Affairs Special Advisor to the Dean for Diversity and Inclusive Excellence





Dr. Peggy Holzweiss

Mentor to Allie Goldstein

Associate Professor Higher Education Administration Sam Houston State University





Dr. Dena Kniess

Mentor to Shelley Price-Williams

Associate Professor of Higher Education Administration and College Student Affairs Program Coordinator, M.Ed. in College Student Affairs University of West Georgia





Dr. Terrell Strayhorn

Mentor to Laila McCloud & JT Snipes

Provost & Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs Professor of Urban Education Director, Center for the Study of HBCUs Virginia Union University





Dr. Amy Wilson

Mentor to Matt Cooney & Katie Koo

Associate Professor & Chair Higher Education Administration Buffalo State, The State University of New York







Participants



Dr. Matt Cooney

Mentored by Amy Wilson

Assistant Professor Interdisciplinary Leadership Doctoral Program Governors State University





Dr. Allie Goldstein

Mentored by Peggy Holzweiss

Assistant Professor of Education (Higher Education) Penn State University





Dr. Katie Koo

Mentored by Amy Wilson

Assistant Professor Higher Education & Learning Technologies Texas A&M University-Commerce





Dr. Laila McCloud

Mentored by Terrell Strayhorn

Program Coordinator, Student Affairs track Counselor Education and College Student Personnel Western Illinois University





Dr. Shelley Price-Williams

Mentored by Dena Kniess

Assistant Professor Postsecondary Education University of Northern Iowa





Dr. Shanna Smith

Mentored by Tenisha Tevis

Assistant Professor Counseling, Higher Education, and Speech-Language Pathology University of West Georgia





Dr. JT Snipes

Mentored by Terrell Strayhorn

Assistant Professor Department of Educational Leadership Southern Illinois University Edwardsville





Dr. Valerie Thompson

Mentored by Natasha Croom

Assistant Professor Educational Leadership & Educational Psychology Counseling, Educational Leadership, Educational and School Psychology (CLES) Coordinator of Higher Education/Student Affairs Program Track Wichita State University





Dr. Blanca Vega Mentored by David Perez II

Assistant Professor of Higher Education Montclair State University





Dr. Gavin Weiser

Mentored by Ken Schneck

Assistant Professor Educational Administration and Foundations Illinois State University





2021-2022 Cohort

- Krispin Barr, mentor Brenda McKenzie
- Michael Brown, mentor Annemarie Vaccaro
- Jason Wallace, mentor Ann Gansemer-Topf
- Amber Manning-Ouellette, mentor Pietro Sasso
- Delma Ramos, mentor LJ Shelton
- Virginia Byrne, mentor Diane Elliott
- Sheena Kauppila, mentor Eric Archer
- Kathleen Clarke, mentor Cliff Haynes
- Roman Liera, mentor Dorian McCoy

#NASPA21



Emerging Faculty Leadership Academy (EFLA): Introduction of 2021-2022 Cohort



2021-2022 EFLA Cohort



Ashley Carpenter Assistant Professor of Higher Education Appalachian State University @AshJCarpenter



Hermen Díaz III Assistant Professor SUNY-Buffalo State College @Hermdiaz



Laila McCloud Assistant Professor, College Student Personnel Western Illinois University @HeyDrMcCloud



Amanda L. Mollet Assistant Professor University of Kansas @AmandaMollet

#NASPA21

2021-2022 EFLA Cohort



Ericka Roland Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies University of Texas at Arlington @DrERoland



Berenice Sánchez Assistant Professor Idaho State University @B_Sanchez06



Stephen Santa-Ramirez Assistant Professor of Higher Education University at Buffalo @DrStephenSR

#NASPA21

2021-2022 EFLA Cohort



Jason K. Wallace Assistant Professor of Higher Education University of Southern Mississippi @DrJKWallace



Gavin Weiser Assistant Professor Department of Educational Administration and Foundations Illinois State University



Invitation to New Faculty Community and Faculty Institute







Thank You!

SEE YOU IN BALTIMORE! 2022 NASPA Annual Conference March 19-23, 2022

