

Mona Hicks Equity, Inclusion, and Social Justice Division Director Report for the July 2019 Board of Directors Meeting June 20, 2019

Requested Board Action Items

None at this time.

Professional Development and Engagement

March 2019 – July 2019 Activities

2019 Annual Conference

March 9-13, 2019 ◊ Los Angeles, CA

- The EISJ Division hosted its first-ever forum at the Annual Conference, drawing more than 120 people in conversation about NASPA's strategic plan, ideas for advancing the objectives related to the EISJ goal in the plan, and areas of challenge and growth on campus. The division plans to make this forum an annual occurrence during the conference.
- The division sponsored a session developed by the Indigenous Peoples Knowledge Community that focused on issues of place and implementation of the Indigenous Protocol Practice Policy. More than 50 people attended the session, which was presented by Charlotte Davidson, IPKC co-chair; Byron Tsabetsaye, the IPKC's IPPP committee chair; and Jamie Singson, the IPKC's representative to the EISJ Division.

Equity, Inclusion, and Social Justice

March 2019 – July 2019 Activities

In March the EISJ Division welcomed three new members (we are waiting on the appointment of two additional new representatives) and thanked another four leaders for their years of service on the

division and, on most cases, on the commission that preceded the division's creation. (See the EISJ report in the President's Report for the division roster.) In May, we also had the opportunity to thank Mary Jo Gonzales for her service as Division Director when she stepped down from the position. During the director transition, NASPA staff liaisons to the division, Jasmine Scott and Monica Nixon, took the lead in moving forward the division's strategic planning process. (Dr. Gonzales informed the board in May that the division would complete its first round of tactic development by the end of summer 2019.)

Division members divided into three strategic planning subcommittees, each convened by a member of the division and focused on one of the objectives under the EISJ goal. Following are the subcommittees:

- Strengthen capacity in all professional roles to recognize, challenge, and dismantle systemic barriers to improve post-secondary access and achievement.
 - Ross Wantland (convener)
 - Tiffany Davis
 - Kenneth Gonzales
 - Bobby Kuntsman
 - Aaron Parayno
- Open pathways throughout the Association and the student affairs profession for equityseeking, historically minoritized, and marginalized communities.
 - Brian Medina (convener)
 - o Aaron Jones
 - o Jamie Singson
 - o Jen Wegner
- Collaborate on the development of evidence-based, innovative, inclusive, and socially just higher education policy and practices.
 - Abby Chien (convener)
 - o Brenda Anderson Wadley
 - Corey Benson
 - Raul Fernandez
 - Carrie Kortegast
 - Amber Mathwig