NASPA Announces Prestigious Class of Annual Award Winners for 2018

Student Success Community Mid-Level
January 31, 2018 NASPA

Washington, D.C. – Each year, NASPA - Student Affairs Administrators in Higher
Education, recognizes members for their outstanding work in the student affairs
profession. Our award winners are those who have made an indelible mark on their field
by providing invaluable support to thousands of college and university students across
the country.

We congratulate these awards winners for their roles in the positive impacts they have
had on the student affairs field.

2018 Outstanding Contribution to Higher Education Award

Dr. Michael Lomax, president and CEO, United Negro College Fund

This award is presented to an individual or organization that has provided
dedicated service, consistent advocacy, and outstanding leadership to the
higher education community on the national or international level. The
honoree will have made a meaningful and appreciable contribution to the
issues and concerns affecting higher education.

2018 Bobby E. Leach Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Award

Doris Ching, interim chancellor, University of Hawai`i, West Oahu

This award honors a senior student affairs professional or faculty member
who has demonstrated a deep commitment to advancing diversity and
inclusion throughout their administrative or academic tenure. This award is
named after Bobby E. Leach, the first person of color to serve as NASPA
president (now known as board chair) and who was also the first African
American Administrator at Florida State University.

2018 George D. Kuh Outstanding Contribution to Literature and/or Research Award

Marcia Baxter Magolda, professor emeritus, Miami University (Ohio)

This award honors an individual who has demonstrated a lifetime
commitment to research and scholarship related to higher education. The
honoree’s work must address important and substantial issues, and have
had a significant or transformative effect on higher education and student
affairs practice in a national or international context.

2018 President's Award

Deneece G. Huftalin, president, Salt Lake Community College

This special NASPA honor is presented to a college or university president
or chancellor who has, over a sustained period, advanced the quality of
student life on campus by supporting the institution’s student affairs staff
and initiatives.

2018 Scott Goodnight Award for Outstanding Performance as a Dean

Linda Clement, vice president for student affairs, University of Maryland
Cedric B. Howard, vice president of enrollment and student service, SUNY Fredonia

This award, named for NASPA’s founding chair of the Board of Directors
and former dean of men at the University of Wisconsin, is presented to a
dean or senior student affairs officer who has demonstrated sustained
professional achievement in student affairs work, innovative response in
meeting students' varied and emerging needs, effectiveness in developing
staff, and leadership in community and college or university affairs. The
award recipient must also have earned stature among and support of
students, faculty, and fellow administrators on campus, and made
significant contributions to the field through publications or involvement in
professional associations.

2018 Robert H. Shaffer Award for Academic Excellence as a Graduate Faculty
Samuel Museus, associate professor of higher education and student affairs and
director of the National Institute for Transformation and Equity, Indiana University

This award, named for a dean and professor emeritus at Indiana University,
is presented to a tenured, full-time faculty member in a graduate preparation
program in student affairs. Each Robert H. Shaffer Award recipient has
inspired graduate students and served on doctoral dissertation committees;
has a distinguished record of scholarly achievement, including publication
in relevant literature; and has made significant contributions to professional

2018 AVP/Senior-Level Student Affairs Professional Award

Jerry Brewer, associate vice president for student affairs and academic support,
University of South Carolina

This award honors a student affairs professional at the AVP or senior-level
whose outstanding commitment to the profession includes development of
programs that address the needs of students, creation of a campus
environment that promotes student learning and development, and support
of and active engagement in NASPA.

2018 Doris Michiko Ching Award for Excellence as a Student Affairs Professional

Naddia Cherre Palacios, Director & CARE Advocate; Campus Advocacy Resources &
Education, University of California - Riverside

This annual award recognizes mid-level student affairs professionals who
demonstrate an outstanding commitment to the student affairs profession
by creating environments that promote student learning and personal
development. The award was renamed to honor NASPA’s first minority
female Board of Directors chairwoman two years ago.