Excellence Awards

Each year, NASPA recognizes the outstanding contributions of members who are transforming higher education through exceptional programs, innovative services, and effective administration. NASPA's Excellence Awards cover twelve categories crucial to the success of students and the continued growth of the student affairs profession. Winners are recognized at the NASPA Annual Conference.

Recent Past Recipients:
2023-2024 Recipients
2022-2023 Recipients
2021-2022 Recipients
2020-2021 Recipients
2019-2020 Recipients

Submitting a nomination:

Refer to the rubric* against which nominations will be evaluated and review the NASPA Excellence Awards Guidelines.

The NASPA Excellence Awards will begin accepting applications on July 31, 2024 and nominations are due by October 9, 2024. Applicants will be notified of the award decision in January 2025. Submit nominations here or choose the applicable category below. 

*NASPA is dedicated to supporting its diverse members and providing a welcoming environment to all. The NASPA Excellence Awards recognizes exceptional and innovative programs that support and grow the student affairs profession. We recognize that ongoing state-level legislation targeting diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives may present challenges to these programs. In submitting your nomination, we ask that you follow the rubric to the best of your ability. However, if your program has limitations beyond your control due to this legislation, the portion of the rubric regarding DEI will be omitted when the submissions are reviewed. We encourage you to read NASPA’s statement about Anti-DEI Legislation Response and Resources. Should you have any questions or concerns, please email [email protected].


Are you interested in serving as an Excellence Awards reviewer? Apply here no later than October 9, 2024. Reviewer applicants will be notified of status on a rolling basis. A tentative timeline of volunteer duties are as follows:

Committee Member Eligibility: