Region VI

Region VI

Grounded in our commitment to diversity, inclusion, scholarship, and leadership, our mission is to provide innovative professional development opportunities that connect, engage, and inspire current and aspiring student affairs educators to serve, respond to, and advocate for students in Arizona, California and Hawai'i.

When you give to the NASPA Foundation, you make a difference. Through a tax-deductible contribution to the NASPA Foundation, you invest in innovative research. You provide scholarships for NASPA members of all levels. You advance excellence in our field. You shape the future of the student affairs profession!

Instagram logo Engage with us on Instagram »


Values: Respect. Teamwork. Integrity.

Region VI Board - June 2023



Region VI encompasses Aotearoa (New Zealand), Arizona, Australia, California, China, Guahan (Guam), Hawai'i, Hong Kong, Malaysia, and Singapore.

The History of NASPA Region VI

Careers in Student Affairs Month

Recorded sessions are now available on YouTube! Our virtual engagement opportunities during Careers in Student Affairs Month included presentations, resume workshops, and digital content with information about graduate programs. 

View recorded sessions »

State Chapters - Region VI

Region VI State Chapters

Complete Your Profile

Login and update your profile.

Submit Info

Get Involved

NASPA Regions are run and supported entirely by the continued hard work and contributions of our volunteers. Region VI offers numerous volunteer positions and opportunities for our members to become involved. Whether it’s taking on a leadership role or helping out at a drive-in, there’s something for everyone.

Are you interested in becoming more involved in NASPA?

  • Visit Volunteer Central to see all positions posting locally, regionally and nationally


Welcome to the Region VI Knowledge Communities (KCs), your Gateway to the Profession and Connection to the Association. As the slogan suggests, the KCs are the entry point to NASPA for graduate students or professionals wanting to get involved and take on a leadership role. KC Representatives are also included in the region's KC advisory board to give a collective voice of the association.

There are currently 44 KCs ranging in topics and specific issues currently facing our field. These active communities help to identify and share emerging knowledge and best practices. Each KC can have up to two regional representatives and as many sub-committee representatives as necessary. Region VI consists of Aotearoa (New Zealand), Arizona, Australia,  California, China (Hong Kong), Guahan (Guam), Hawai'i, Malaysia, and Singapore.

Within the Region VI KCs there are a number of ways to get involved:

  • You can be a Regional Representative for one of our many Knowledge Communities.
  • You can serve on a committee or be an active member of a KC.
  • You can click one or more of the KCs on your NASPA profile page and receive emails about upcoming events or provide input into the programming or information provided by your KC representatives.
  • You can attend ancillary meetings, have a KC sponsor a presentation, or write an article to our many NASPA publications.

We look forward to working with you!

Region VI Awards

Each year NASPA recognizes outstanding members by honoring professionals and students through our regional awards. Regional award winners are forwarded for consideration at the national awards level, as applicable.

A full description of all awards and a list of past recipients is available below.

Thank you for your interest in nominating a colleague/program for an award.
The nomination form is now closed. Please consider nominating next year. 

Questions? Contact Lexer Chou, Nominations and Awards Chair, at [email protected].


Distinguished Pillars of the Profession

2024 - Martha Enciso, Christine Quemuel
2023 - Josie Ahlquist, Lea M. Jarnagin
2022 - Willie L. Banks Jr., Joel Perez
2021 - Evette Castillo Clark, Kevin Colaner, Janet Dickerson, Debra Geller, Tonantzin Oseguera
2020 - Jan Minoru Javinar
2019 - Joy L. Hoffman, Kathryn Mueller
2018 - Kandy Mink Salas, Sherry Mallory
2017 - John Hoffman, Brian Haynes, Harry Le Grande, Judy Sakaki, Frank Lamas, Ellen J. Neufeldt
2016 - Lori M. Ideta, Berenecea Johnson Eanes, Kenneth Kelly, Anna M. Ortiz, Wm. Gregory Sawyer
2015 - Melissa Vito, Anna K. Gonzalez
2014 - *
2013 - Peg Blake, Jill Halvaks, Sharyn Slavin Miller
2012 - Marilee Bresciani
2011 - Charlotte Burgess, Penny Rue
2010 - Howard S. Wang
2009 - Susan Hunter Hancock, Robert Naples, Lisa Waits, Thomas C. Shandley
2008 - Renee Barnett Terry, Ronni Sanlo
2007 - James R. Kitchen, Gary Kleeman, Dwight L. Rideout
2006 - Anthony R. Ross, Ronald R. Kopita
2005 - *
2004 - Henry Gee, Michael Jackson, Alvin Tagomori
2003 - Sandra Matsui, Saunie Taylor, Keith Miser, Hazel Scott, Penny Wills
2002 - Amefil Agbayani, Hal Gin, Elizabeth Griego, Alan Yang
2001 - Anne E. Golseth
2000 - Doris M. Ching, Dudley B. Woodard, James Lyons
1999 - Judy Chambers, Jesse Marks, James R. Appleton